Reply
Feb 07 2007
By: ThePeacemaker02 Treasure Hunter 8950 posts
Offline

You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

6 replies 17 views Edited Feb 7, 2007
lanning on getting a second or third mortgage to beef up your Windows box up to Crysis playable levels? You may want to read on. Crytek CEO Cevat Yerli told industry pub Next-Gen that gamers with older gaming PCs can still get their Crysis on, despite having a three year old set up.

So how does the current prettiest first person shooter plan to scale down to my current ghetto DirectX 9 hardware specs?

Fortunately this is much easier now that we can rely on the existence of hardware shaders. We believe clearly that Crysis will be enjoyed by a large audience that dates back to gamers with two- to three-year-old gaming rigs.

Yerli does warn though that you shouldn't spoil yourself on the DX10 version of the game, then try to go back to the decidely less gorgeous DX9 lest ye covet thy neighbor's graphics card. In other words, what you don't know won't hurt you.

Read on for the company's plans to move exclusively to Vista, but don't expect to find a release date. Yerli only gives us "asap". The wait doesn't bother me. I'll need to come across a few stray Benjamins before I'm signing up for Crysis.





Link


Message Edited by TJ32 on 02-06-2007 07:21 PM
PSN:ThePeacemaker02
Message 1 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Shinra Executive
Registered: 06/15/2006
Offline
42149 posts
 

Re: You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

Feb 7, 2007
Still would kill what I'm on.  My laptop has trouble running the Rise of Nations demo smoothly

Message 2 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 04/06/2005
Offline
7346 posts
 

Re: You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

Feb 7, 2007
i do, my computer sucks a lot of balls
grammatoad
Message 3 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 04/30/2005
Offline
8950 posts
 

Re: You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

Feb 7, 2007


-Zaku- wrote:
Still would kill what I'm on.  My laptop has trouble running the Rise of Nations demo smoothly


I stll think it's good that they are making it available to the people who don't have 3000 dollar computers.
PSN:ThePeacemaker02
Message 4 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 12/16/2005
Offline
5946 posts
 

Re: You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

Feb 7, 2007
Yeah i can run it
deep, titanic, make the dance panic, one-a-penny, two-a-penny, vibe you can't manage

My Hiscores | infrared Gaming Community
Message 5 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 07/19/2005
Offline
5835 posts
 

Re: You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

Feb 7, 2007
My computer struggles to play CSSmiley Frustrated on the lowest settings.Smiley Indifferent
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Message 6 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 11/24/2004
Offline
6089 posts
 

Re: You don't need an uber 1337 rig to play Crysis

Feb 7, 2007
yeah, theres no way my comp will run any recent game. maybe the laptop for CoD2 but thats about it
PM me if you can decrypt the following:
fW Pz9Xvut 6x4UkDf cYdtw5 urcDK lpgxL +x+f J3o ndoD S9JUcpDVRb zAHabg /6NSb WZW3 bl6 0Mxs0j agV+ Y3DeWjJfbR, WQl3 zojLK M64mddEvY UPMot 49Oc VZZO60 9x4pT

Your hint is: "12345" (You NEED this to get it)
Another hint: Encryptor is spelled with a -or, not -er
Another: Where do you go when you need help? Why would I tell you how to spell "encryptor?"
And another: You won't have to leave this browser window to figure it out
Finally someone got it: Congrats to SecretAgentMan on 7/13/07
Message 7 of 7 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes