Apr 05 2007
By: Kizit I Only Post Everything 996 posts

Is this wise?

8 replies 1 views Edited Apr 5, 2007
I am thinking about dual-booting linux ubuntu and windows XP.
I have no idea really how to go about this. You only really need to partition part of my hard drive and get a dual boot program right?
So, I have no knowledge of how to dual boot or even linux in general so do you think that I should undergo this task, and do you think that I could be succesful at it?

Firefox kicks, spread the word!
Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 9 (1 View)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
5128 posts

Re: Is this wise?

Apr 5, 2007
go for it, my friend dual boots and what he says sounds easy
partition your HD and use that software? and you should be fine
Written in very small characters one word, which could be deciphered, but it was hard to tell whether it should be read as independent or interdependent

PSU handle: NewbieSmack
Gaming PSN handle: Mistah_Kurtz
Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 9 (1 View)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
9178 posts

Apr 5, 2007
just burn the image to a cd
press esc when at the start screen of yur comp (before the winxp logo shows, when the comp manufactorers logo is on the screen)
insert disk with the OS on it
select the drive that the disk is in

lol signature
Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 9 (1 View)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
996 posts

Apr 5, 2007

dajermster wrote:
press esc when at the start screen of yur comp (before the winxp logo shows, when the comp manufactorers logo is on the screen)

Thats not dual-booting is it?thats just booting with the live CD. I am considering putting the OS on my harddrive and then using another program to choose at startup which OS iw ould like to load.that is what my question pertains to...
Firefox kicks, spread the word!
Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 9 (1 View)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
9178 posts

Apr 5, 2007

poprockpro wrote:

dajermster wrote: