Mar 16 2007
By: swattkidd~ Keyblade Wielder 10305 posts

~~~Computer.experts needed for Booting an OS~~~~[LOOK HERE]

16 replies 2 views Edited Mar 16, 2007
Ok i got my solaris DVD today, and i want to boot it up from the DVD but i dont want to install anything on my comp or partion..is this possible?? i have never really used linux or anything like that so i have never done this before...

Message Edited by swattkidd on 03-16-2007 04:36 PM
Message 3 of 17 (2 Views)
0 Likes
Fender Bender
3224 posts

Re: Computer experts needed for booting an OS

Mar 16, 2007
It it a live CD? If it is, you can boot from it without installing anything.
I reached 128-bit at 2,325 posts!!!oneone111!!

Message 1 of 17 (2 Views)
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
10305 posts

Mar 16, 2007

Carmaster wrote:

How can i tell if its a live CD?? i ordered it from the solaris website and it just came in the mail today
Message 2 of 17 (2 Views)
0 Likes
Fender Bender
3224 posts

Mar 16, 2007

swattkidd wrote:

Carmaster wrote:

How can i tell if its a live CD?? i ordered it from the solaris website and it just came in the mail today

Try going back to the website you ordered it from, and check to see if you ordered the live version. If that doesn't work, just try putting in the CD, and see if it lets you boot from it without installing anything. But be careful when partitioning your hard drive. My Vista PC died that way.Smiley Sad

Message 4 of 17 (2 Views)
0 Likes
Umbrella Scientist
14005 posts

Mar 16, 2007
well it depens as the other poster said if it´s a live cd you can boot but if it´s not your going to need to install it

Message 5 of 17 (2 Views)
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
10305 posts

Mar 16, 2007

Carmaster wrote:

swattkidd wrote:

Carmaster wrote: