Gaming Beast
2341 posts

Re: WHY NOT AMC?

Jul 13, 2012

Well I'm glad you enjoyed it. I knew a guy who bought one (new) only to have the entire body rust thru within ~5 years. And from what I recall, it was a comon complaint.

Each to his own. The ambassador we had was a fine car and never quit working unexpectedly on me, whether in the dead of a subzero North East Ohio winter like 77/78 or in the peak heat and humidity (90F+/90%) of the summer from mid June through mid July. And as I said, it was fast.

- There's a distinct difference between slow & deliberate and deliberately slow -
Message 11 of 19 (306 Views)
0 Likes
Wastelander
907 posts

Jul 14, 2012

After college, I worked as a car salesman for awhile and made it my mission to try to sell all the "unloved" cars in the used car lot - cars like a Chevy Vega (which a mechanic described as not having a radiator big enough to cool a popcorn fart) and an ugly green Pinto that I tried to market to local stoes as a delivery car.  One car that I though I would have no trouble selling was an AMC car - one of the basic box-shaped models.  One day, a kid who needed a car for college came to the lot and I had him convinced that the AMC would make a good school car.  We test drove the car back to the house and I was making the same pitch to his Dad - about how this was a good safe sensible car for his son.  I was in the middle of my pitch when he pointed to the car and said "what's that?".  Apparently, when we turned into his driveway, something in the differential had separated, allowing the outside axle to migrate outwards.  So what he was pointing out was the rear wheel and tire which were now entirely outside of the wheel well.  I suppose that if I had been a true salesman, I would have said something like "once we gat that minor problem fixed - it will be safer than ever!"  But I was just grateful that it happened before the sale.

Was that a problem with those cars?