Jan 17 2011
By: Acliad First Son 2 posts

New to Gran Turismo

10 replies 27 views Edited Jan 17, 2011

Hey guys.  As the title suggests, I'm new to the series.  I picked up GT5 a few days ago and I'm fairly lost.  How do I know what cars to buy?  What cars to tune up?  Which car is better and why?  What am I looking for in the used car dealer?  What should I do with a car bought from a used car dealer as far as tuning?  Is there somewhere where I can do a regular race for money and xp?  Also I'm wondering how nice the racing wheels are.  I'm wanting to get one but not sure what to get.  What would you recommend for a fairly casual racer?

Sorry for so many questions, its just a bit overwhelming and I want to have a great experience.

Thanks.

Message 1 of 11 (27 Views)
0 Likes
Wastelander
870 posts

Re: New to Gran Turismo

Jan 17, 2011

Welcome to GT5 and to the forum!

First off, you have 20,000 credits to start with.  Before you can do anything, you have to purchase a vehicle from either the new car lot or the used car lot.  Your best bet is the used car lot.  There should be a white '98 civic there for around 18,000 credits.  Purchase that, perform an oil change on it (this goes for any other car you purchase as well), and add an ECM module to it at the tuning shop.

The first set of races that you will be able to do is the Sunday Cup.  You should win fairly easily in that civic, and as you win more races you can continue to upgrade the car.

Also, you can do the license tests, which will initially give you more XP and credits than running the beginner races.  The license tests, if you pass them, will also give you free vehicles.

As far as knowing which vehicles to buy, that's really up to your personal preference and what's required for the next set of races.  Some races require certain vehicle types and some are open to any vehicle.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------