Reply
Dec 06 2010
By: jerrrrrry First Son 3 posts
Offline

Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

8 replies 15159 views Edited Dec 6, 2010

Is there any way to EASILY reset (turn off) 3D mode in GT5, before the game loads?

 

I took my PS3 and Gran Turismo 5 to a friend's house (he has a nice 55" 3D LED tv) - pretty cool experience. But when I was done, I packed up and brought the system home - and now the game is apparently in 3D mode which my tv doesn't support.

 

I load the game, get to intro, then it says loading from hdd - or whatever - I hit X and then the TV goes blank and my Samsung menu says "Mode Not Supported"

 

Is there any way to EASILY reset 3D mode? I haven't played too many hours yet, but I do not want to delete the game data. I could take my console up to his house again, turn off 3D mode, save it, and bring it back, but that's a pretty annoying workaround.

 

Thanks

 

 

 

note: I already tried "up down up down left right left right X square select start"

Message 1 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 03/15/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 11, 2010
Can someone tell me what happens if they start the game in 3D display mode?

The screen should have a 10 second countdown saying
"If you can read this, press triangle" otherwise it goes back to normal display. Just like when you change your resolution in Windows....

Sucks that I can't play this game til I take my entire system to a 3D tv to reset the display settings
Message 2 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 12/20/2007
Offline
429 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 11, 2010

Delete your settings file from the game data on the xmb

Message 3 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 09/30/2010
Offline
456 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 11, 2010
press and hold the power button on the system until the second beep
My Car List: http://www.mygranturismo.net/4825



It was pure driving. It was real racing. And that, that makes me happy. ~ Ayrton Senna
Message 4 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Splicer
Registered: 10/30/2010
Offline
74 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 11, 2010

Go back to the friends house and turn 3D off?

Message 5 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 09/10/2007
Offline
180 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 11, 2010

If you haven't solved this problem yet, I now GT5 detects between using an HDMI and component video. 3D is automatically turned off if HDMI isn't found.

Message 6 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/11/2010
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 11, 2010

I had the same exact problem. Go to your video display settings and do the set-up portion for your tv again. It thinks it's still the 3d tv cause it's probably displaying at 1080p, once you do the display setting again, GT5 works. No need to delete your installed file or reset your whole gt life. hope it works for ya.

Message 7 of 9 (15,159 Views)
First Son
Registered: 03/15/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Dec 15, 2010
I cannot get to the video display settings because my tv turns off before this, trying to show 3d display. I explained that above.

I installed the patch, loaded it up and my GT5 still does not detect what my tv is. And honestly, think about it - how could it? The best it could do is have a time-out like i explained above

Oh well the game is a bust, I'm going to sell it and buy the justin bieber video game. Thanks for your time
Message 8 of 9 (15,159 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 09/05/2012
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: Game is Stuck in 3D mode?! Help!

Sep 5, 2012
I had the same exact problem! You don't need to start the game to do that. You go into the video display option from your Sony home screen and just run the tv set up again. Thanks Yolacse
Message 9 of 9 (15,066 Views)