Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Nov 11 2012
By: WhatDegree Monster Hunter 45 posts

Best order to play Final Fantasy

10 replies 626 views Edited Nov 11, 2012

I am a 4th generation Final Fantasy fan if I'm correct, meaning I started playing on the PS2. So I know for the first part that any order is fine, but I know they can be very different. Such as X & XIII are very linear and I wanted to to see all the fuss about VII and became completely lost and disgusted by either the end of the first disc or beginning of second - I forget.

Knowing this what is the best way to coax me into the more open end part enough where free roam doesn't bother me enough and I could give VII another crack. Graphics aren't a problem more of a story which FF usually deliver, so not a problem if somebody suggest an early game. 

Keep in mind I only have access to the psn titles avaible for console use.

Message 1 of 11 (626 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
11174 posts

Re: Best order to play Final Fantasy

Nov 11, 2012

Given your reaction to Final Fantasy VII, it's hard to tell whether you'd appreciate other Final Fantasy games in the series or not, as the game is often referred to as one of the highest points Squaresoft has ever reached with the brand.

Comparatively, are you a fan of the more linear styles of Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy XIII? If you haven't tried Final Fantasy XII then like Final Fantasy XIII after it the game is more of an action-RPG hybrid mixed with an expansive world to explore.

The way that a broader map system operates though is that there is your objective and then there is everything else. With sidequests you'll have the choice to head directly to the next district on the map or hang around Balamb Garden and challenge everyone possible to a card duel. Sometimes you'll be able to walk in a Final Fantasy game while other times you'll have the airship to transport you to different destinations.