First Son
23 posts

Re: Mercenaries 2: World in Flames freezes at Connecting to EA Servers! Help!

Sep 22, 2010

Hi,

I bought this game a few months ago. I was having exactly the same problem - game saying it couldn't connect to servers and then freezing not long after. The only solution i found was to sign out of PSN while playing. There was no freezing after that, could play the single player... obviously couldn't go online though. So you may have to forget about the platinum.

However, after being a fan of the 1st game, this was a huge disappointmet. I just couldn't get into the game. My advice would be to buy Red Faction instead , much better sandbox fun and still active online. That's just me though.

Message 31 of 53 (510 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
1 posts

Oct 14, 2010

I am very new to PS3 and PSN.

I bought a preowned version of "Mercenaries 2" and until yesterday everytime I tried to play on-line the game froze while "connecting to EA servers".

However after reading the threads I installed "Army of Two", agreed with the conditions and used the on-line option. Then, I re-inserted Mercenaries 2 and I was able to pass the stage "connecting to EA servers" without a problem and experienced no freezes.

The trick worked for me but having a second game to "activate" the first one is not the best of options...

Message 32 of 53 (510 Views)
0 Likes
Highlighted
Fender Bender
4252 posts

Nov 6, 2010

Sorry that I the OP has been very inactive in this thread. Like I don't look at this thread very much, though seeing how many views it has gotten and how high it's ranked for "Mercs 2 freeze" on Google shows how common this issue is. I'm still trying to get my hands on a copy of Need for Speed Carbon for the PS3 to have the game work online. For those of you who have no idea what the bug is, here's what it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MhVg9J3qqfI So as you can see, the game freezes and doesn't let you go online.

Message 33 of 53 (510 Views)
0 Likes
First Son